Alumni round-up

A- A A+

EUI Alumni Association logo

Alumni Round-up lists all the news we have received from our alumni in the past month, organised by matriculation year.


Karen Liebreich (HEC 1981-1986) was awarded an MBE (Member of the Order of the British Empire) for services to education and horticulture in West London. The announcement was made in the New Year Honours List on 29 December and Liebreich received the award at a ceremony at Buckingham Palace on 20 February.


Antoine Vauchez (SPS 1995-2000) has just published  L’Union par le droit : l’invention d’un programme institutionnel pour l’Europe (Presses de Sciences Po,2013).


Jurian Langer (LAW 2000-2006) was appointed Professor in European law and the Dutch legal order at the University of Groningen, on 1 February. The focus of the chair is the application of European law in the Dutch legal order.


Joost van Spanje (SPS 2004-2009) has won a Dutch Science Foundation (NWO) ‘Veni’ personal research grant. In the project, entitled “Killing them softly? Characteristics and consequences of soft repression of political ideas by news media,” Joost will investigate media campaigns against particular political ideas in the Netherlands and its effects on voting behavior. The EUR 265,000 research project will run from 2013 until 2017.


Mario Viola de Azevedo Cunha (LAW 2006-2011) has published Market Integration Through Data Protection.  The volume is the latest in Springer’s Law, Governance and Technology Series.


Alexandre Saydé (LAW 2007-2012) won the 2012 Ius Commune Prize with his CYELS article entitled “One Law, Two Competitions. An Enquiry into the Contradictions of Free Movement Law”.

The Ius Commune Prize, which was started in 2001, is awarded to a PhD student or starting researcher who is deemed to have written an article of outstanding quality, which falls within the material scope encompassed by the objectives of the Research School Ius Commune. The value of the prize is € 1250.

Alexandre is Référendaire to Judge Christopher Vajda at the European Court of Justice.