Academic news

Summer schools on human rights law and EU law in 27th year

With estimates of Academy of European Law (AEL)  ‘alumni’ at over two thousand, the reach of the EUI’s law summer schools can be felt far and wide. Every summer since 1990, the Academy of European Law brings more than a hundred individuals to the EUI campus for two-week courses in Human Rights Law and the […]

Hervé Bribosia (LAW’93) interviews Renaud Dehousse (LAW’82)

Law alumnus Hervé Bribosia (’93) writes to signal the publication of ‘Quelle union politique en Europe’, a long interview with Professor Renaud Dehousse, who will take over the Presidency of the EUI in September. Among other topics,  Dehousse explains his long-standing interest in European integration studies, his appreciation for multi-disciplinary research, his thoughts on the actual state of […]

President JHH Weiler receives Florence’s ‘Fiorino d’Oro’

  The mayor of the city of Florence, Dario Nardella, has named EUI President JHH Weiler as one of the 2016 recipients of its civic prize ‘Fiorino d’Oro della citta di Firenze’. The prize recognizes individuals who have brought honour to the city of Florence and its institutions, both at the national and international levels, thanks to their distinguished […]

Thesis award to Ricardo García Antón

The European Association of Tax Law Professors (EATLP) awarded its 2016 Tax Thesis Award to 2015 LAW alumnus Ricardo García Antón at its annual conference in Munich, Germany earlier this month. Ricardo’s thesis, La cuestión prejudicial y la fiscalidad directa, analyses how the European Court of Justice, working within the preliminary reference procedure (267 TFEU), deals with cases in […]

EUI awards degrees at annual ceremony

The EUI held its annual conferring ceremony on Friday, 10 June at the Badia Fiesolana. Ninety-three alumni returned to the Institute to receive their ceremonial diplomas from EUI President J.H.H. Weiler. In addition, two Honoris Causa doctorates were awarded at the ceremony, recognizing the deep contributions made to the fields of history and sociology respectively by Professor […]

Mauro Cappelletti Prize awarded to Bosko Tripkovic

The EUI Law Department will award the Mauro Cappelletti Prize for the Best Thesis in Comparative Law to Bosko Tripkovic, Ph.D.  Tripkovic defended his thesis The metaethics of constitutional adjudication in 2015 under the supervision of Professor Dennis Patterson.  His dissertation is forthcoming as a monograph by Oxford University Press, and in the autumn he will take up a Lecturer position at […]

ECO Thesis Prize awarded to Pavel Brendler

Pavel Brendler, who defended his thesis Essays on income inequality, political inequality and income redistribution in the U.S. under the supervision of Professor Andrea Mattozzi, will receive the 2016 Vilfredo Pareto Prize for the Best Thesis in Economics. The prize, established in 2015 by the EUI Department of Economics, honors Vilfredo Pareto, an Italian sociologist, economist, political […]

Anna auf dem Brinke wins Linz-Rokkan Prize

The EUI’s SPS Department has announced that this year’s recipient of the Linz-Rokkan Prize in Political Sociology is Anna auf dem Brinke for her thesis The political economy of financial risk and preferences, which she defended under the supervision of Professor Pepper Culpepper. The annual prize was created by the SPS Department in honour of two great postwar […]

Renaud Dehousse appointed new President of the EUI

Renaud Dehousse, Director of the Centre for European Studies and Professor of EU Law and Public Policy at Sciences-Po, Paris, has been appointed the new Principal of the EUI. The appointment of Professor Dehousse was approved by the EUI High Council on 3 June. He will take up his appointment in September 2016. ‘I am happy […]

Ángel Alcalde wins Ivano Tognarini Dissertation Prize

Ángel Alcalde has been awarded the Ivano Tognarini Prize in Contemporary History for his Ph.D. dissertation War Veterans and Transnational Fascism: from Fascist Italy and Nazi Germany to Francoist Spain and Vichy France (1917-1940), which he defended in 2015 in the EUI Department of History and Civilization, under the supervision of Professor Federico Romero. The Prize is promoted by the […]