Alumni news

Open Access Week at the EUI

It has never been easier to circulate your research, thanks to the digital revolution in publishing. Knowing what is right for you, however, can be more difficult. With the approach of  Open Access Week (24-30 October), now is the perfect time to find out more. Through Open Access, scholars are able to disseminate their research online […]

40 Years, 40 Photos

Over the next several months EUI followers will get a look into the Institute’s past—its buildings, personalities and events—thanks to an instagram initiative in collaboration with the Historical Archives of the European Union (HAEU). #ThrowbackThursday starts today, 1 September, and will offer viewers 40 historical images (for now selected from the EUI fonds held at […]

Hervé Bribosia (LAW’93) interviews Renaud Dehousse (LAW’82)

Law alumnus Hervé Bribosia (’93) writes to signal the publication of ‘Quelle union politique en Europe’, a long interview with Professor Renaud Dehousse, who will take over the Presidency of the EUI in September. Among other topics,  Dehousse explains his long-standing interest in European integration studies, his appreciation for multi-disciplinary research, his thoughts on the actual state of […]

Sean Loughlin (SPS ’82) looks back

Sean Loughlin is an alumnus of the 1982 cohort of the SPS department. He is Research Fellow at Blackfriars Hall, Oxford;  Emeritus Fellow, St Edmund’s College, Cambridge and Emeritus Professor, Cardiff University, Wales. Choosing the EUI I arrived in Florence in 1982 having studied French and Politics in what was then the Ulster Polytechnic (now the University of Ulster). […]

Christian Huber (SPS ’76) on the early years

Christian H. Huber is an alumnus of the first cohort of EUI researchers in the SPS Department. He was a researcher from 1976-1979 and a junior research fellow from 1979-1980.  He is now retired from his post as a Director at the Secretariat-General of the European Parliament, where he worked for 35 years. The recent obituaries in EUI Life […]

Thesis award to Ricardo García Antón

The European Association of Tax Law Professors (EATLP) awarded its 2016 Tax Thesis Award to 2015 LAW alumnus Ricardo García Antón at its annual conference in Munich, Germany earlier this month. Ricardo’s thesis, La cuestión prejudicial y la fiscalidad directa, analyses how the European Court of Justice, working within the preliminary reference procedure (267 TFEU), deals with cases in […]

EUI awards degrees at annual ceremony

The EUI held its annual conferring ceremony on Friday, 10 June at the Badia Fiesolana. Ninety-three alumni returned to the Institute to receive their ceremonial diplomas from EUI President J.H.H. Weiler. In addition, two Honoris Causa doctorates were awarded at the ceremony, recognizing the deep contributions made to the fields of history and sociology respectively by Professor […]

Mauro Cappelletti Prize awarded to Bosko Tripkovic

The EUI Law Department will award the Mauro Cappelletti Prize for the Best Thesis in Comparative Law to Bosko Tripkovic, Ph.D.  Tripkovic defended his thesis The metaethics of constitutional adjudication in 2015 under the supervision of Professor Dennis Patterson.  His dissertation is forthcoming as a monograph by Oxford University Press, and in the autumn he will take up a Lecturer position at […]

ECO Thesis Prize awarded to Pavel Brendler

Pavel Brendler, who defended his thesis Essays on income inequality, political inequality and income redistribution in the U.S. under the supervision of Professor Andrea Mattozzi, will receive the 2016 Vilfredo Pareto Prize for the Best Thesis in Economics. The prize, established in 2015 by the EUI Department of Economics, honors Vilfredo Pareto, an Italian sociologist, economist, political […]

Anna auf dem Brinke wins Linz-Rokkan Prize

The EUI’s SPS Department has announced that this year’s recipient of the Linz-Rokkan Prize in Political Sociology is Anna auf dem Brinke for her thesis The political economy of financial risk and preferences, which she defended under the supervision of Professor Pepper Culpepper. The annual prize was created by the SPS Department in honour of two great postwar […]