Alumni news

Ángel Alcalde wins Ivano Tognarini Dissertation Prize

Ángel Alcalde has been awarded the Ivano Tognarini Prize in Contemporary History for his Ph.D. dissertation War Veterans and Transnational Fascism: from Fascist Italy and Nazi Germany to Francoist Spain and Vichy France (1917-1940), which he defended in 2015 in the EUI Department of History and Civilization, under the supervision of Professor Federico Romero. The Prize is promoted by the […]

Mislav Mataija publishes volume on private regulation

EUI alumnus Mislav Mataija (LAW 2013) writes to announce the recent publication of Private Regulation and the Internal Market: Sports, Legal Services, and Standard Setting in EU Economic Law by Oxford University Press.  The volume was developed out of his thesis, which he defended in the Department of Law in 2013. Mislav is now working […]

Catching up with Jessica Spataro, retired after 34 years

Jessica Spataro, who worked for the Economics Department for more than 34 years, officially retired at the end of February.  In an extraordinary send-off, academics, alumni and former faculty who have been at the ECO department in the last four decades surprised her with their personal and video testimonies at a conference in her honour […]

Marina Calloni to introduce session on abuses against the Yazidis

SPS alumna Marina Calloni, Professor of Political Philosophy at the University of Milan ‘Bicocca’, writes to update us on an event involving the Eliminate Domestic Violence Global Foundation (EDV GF).  Nominated as ‘acting Ambassador’ to EDV GF in Italy, Calloni will give the introduction to a special session at Milan’s Film Festival Forum Diritti Umani , which takes place […]

Maarten Vink wins ERC grant for citizenship research

EUI Life recently caught up with Maarten Vink, a familiar presence in the EUI academic community since he first held a Jean Monnet Fellowship at the RSCAS in 2004. Maarten is co-director of the European Union Democracy Observatory (EUDO) on Citizenship with Rainer Bauböck (EUI-SPS) and Jo Shaw (University of Edinburgh), which is hosted at the EUI. He […]

New volume out by Patrizia Guarnieri

Patrizia Guarnieri, who was a Jean Monnet Fellow at the EUI in 1998, writes to announce the publication of her book Italian psychology and Jewish emigration under fascism: from Florence to Jerusalem and New York with Palgrave Macmillan, earlier this year. The book details the drama of Jewish Italian scholars who were forced to emigrate […]

Mel Marquis appointed to professorship in Beijing

Mel Marquis, part-time professor in Law, has been appointed as the 2016 CUFE Chair Professor of the Law School of China’s Central University of Finance and Economics in Beijing. Mel received his LL.M. degree at the EUI in 2000, having arrived here on a Fulbright Scholarship. He has been working at the Institute as part-time […]

Cristina Blanco Sío-López edits special issue of Regions and Cohesion

Cristina Blanco Sío-López (HEC, 2003) is glad to announce the publication of a special issue of Regions and Cohesion. Journal of the Consortium for Comparative Research on Regional Integration and Social Cohesion (RISC). The special Winter 2015 (5:3) issue, of which she was guest editor and scientific coordinator, is entitled ‘Policy Innovation, Regional Integration and […]

LAW alumnus Del Duca working with ABA

Patrick Del Duca (LAW, 1985) is a member of the American Bar Association’s Latin America Law Initiative Council and serves as Publications Officer of the ABA’s Section of International Law.  He would be happy to hear from EUI alumni interested in exploring book publication through the American Bar Association. Earlier this year he served as […]

MWP alumnus Robert Lepenies recognized

Congratulations to former Max Weber Fellow (2013-2015) Robert Lepenies for two awards he recently received. In November Robert was named a co-recipient of the WIWA Young Scholar Award For Pluralism In Economics.  The prize is meant to encourage younger economists in Germany to break new ground in teaching and research with verified contributions to the […]